Qajar (Kadjar) Nobles and Notables

"Rejaal-e Zamaan-e Ghaajaariyeh"


The Qajar (Kadjar) era is associated in many people's minds with the names of the famous figures that embodied it. The Shahs and Crown Princes aside, the Qajar (Kadjar) era was dominated by notable figures that gave it shape and led it to heights of glory as well as to depths of defeat and sometimes, disaster. The names of these figures are legend, and are known to most Iranians of the past generation or so, but they may seem strange and foreign to a new generation of Iranians who have not grown roots to the same depth as their fathers and grandfathers. It is good, therefore, to refresh some of those memories with names and faces. Thus this project of a picture gallery of nobles and notables of the Qajar (Kadjar) era.

Aviso: To all the Qajars (Kadjars) who are visiting this site, and to any others who may have pictorial evidence of the Qajar (Kadjar) era, or would like to suggest names that should be researched and added, we would greatly appreciate copies of photographs with/or short descriptions of the subject(s) to display them here. The address to send them electronically is; for "snail mail" please send to M.M. Eskandari-Qajar (Kadjar), P.O. Box 31107, Santa Barbara, CA 93130, USA. All photos will be considered, at the discretion of the author of these pages, but final decision on posting will depend on relevance to this site and its overall theme.



Prince Soltan Morad Mirza, Hessam Saltaneh, Conqueror of Herat

Prince Mass'oud Mirza Zell-e Soltan (Zill-i Sultan) (Nasser-ed-Din Shah's eldest son)

Prince Kamran Mirza Nayeb-Saltaneh (Nasser-ed-Din Shah's third son)

Prince Malek Mansour Mirza Sho'a al-Saltaneh (Mozaffar-ed-Din Shah's second son)

Prince Abolfath' Mirza Salar-ed-Dowleh (Mozaffar-ed-Din Shah's third son)

Prince Abolfazl Mirza Azod-os-Soltan (Mozaffar-ed-Din Shah's fourth son)

Prince Abdol Majid Mirza Eyn-ed-Dowleh

Prince Abdol-Hossein Mirza Farmanfarma

Prince Nossrat-Dowleh Firouz (Farmanfarma's eldest son)

Prince Soleyman Mirza Eskandari

Arfa' ed-Dowleh (Prince)

Malkam Khan (Prince)

Farrokh Khan Amin-ed-Dowleh (Ghaffari)

Mirza Ali Asghar Khan, Amin-e Soltan, Atabak-e Azam

Mehdi Qoli Khan Qajar Qoyunlu, Majd-ed-Dowleh, (Amir Soleymani)

Ali Reza Khan Qajar (Kadjar), Azod-ol-Molk, (Amir Soleymani)

Abol-Ghasem Khan Gharagozlou, Nasser-ol-Molk

Mirza Hassan Khan Vossough (Vossough-Dowleh)

Seyyed Hassan Modaress

Zoka'-ol-Molk Foroughi (Mirza Mohammad Ali Khan)


In progress! Please check back again soon !



Back to Table of Contents